Font Size



About the Genesee/Finger Lakes Regional Planning Council

The Genesee/Finger Lakes Regional Planning Council (G/FLRPC) was established in 1977 by a joint resolution approved by its eight original member counties, including Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, and Yates. Wyoming County was admitted in 1986. The Council was organized pursuant to Articles 5-G and 12-B of the New York State General Municipal Law.

The nine counties in the Genesee-Finger Lakes Region (Region Map) comprise 4,680 square miles and have a population exceeding 1,217,000 residents. The voting members of the Council represent participating counties, the City of Rochester, and the community-at-large. These members include chief elected officials, local legislators, department heads, and key community leaders in the region.

G/FLRPC's primary program components include Local, Regional, and Water Resources Planning, Regional Economic Development Planning, and a Data, Technology, and Resource Center.

The G/FLRPC Organizational Structure includes the following: